The Worst Luck

Australia has something called instant coffee. Being as I am not a big coffee drinker, I’m not sure if we have that in the states, but if we do then it isn’t as common as it is here.

Tahnee my house mate bought some French vanilla flavored instant cappuccino packets. It was about 7 in the morning and I’d just heated up left over chocolate chip and banana pancakes for breakfast. I decided a nice cup of hot cappuccino would be nice because it was a bit chili outside.

I boiled some water in our electric kettle and mixed in the packet of coffee. The coffee mug was too hot to hold, so I put it on a small plate to carry it over with me. I had my pancakes in my right hand and my coffee on its small plate in my left. As I went to take a seat I was favoring my left ankle while also under estimating how far down it was to sit on the couch. I lost my balance and tipped the little plate and boiling hot coffee all down my front and into my lap.

I ran out back because it was cooler there and I don’t think I’ve ever stripped out of my cloths so fast. I had steam coming off my red body. I was in pain, everything the coffee touched was hurting.

The loud crash woke Tahnee and she rushed in to see what was going on. All I could say was “I burnt myself”. She ran and got me a towel, but the burns hurt so much I had to go take the coldest shower of my life.

This all happened about 3 days after I hurt my ankle so I was feeling like I had the worst luck! It took my skin about 2 to 3 days to stop constantly hurting. Then as it healed and formed scabs it was itchy. Now, about a month later life is back to normal, only a small burn mark remains on the inside of my leg. I anticipate it will not be permanent.

Lessons Learned:

Do not put boiling hot coffee on a small plate without two hands to hold it, just don’t do it!

Leave a Reply

